When you create your Team in Parsec, you have the option to place team members in groups. Groups allow you to manage access and connection permissions between users and parts of your organization. Every member of your Team starts out in the unassigned category, but you can use a CSV upload to assign a group of users quickly.
People who are assigned to the admin role can be in a group, but they also have permission to change what groups other members of your Team are in. The only person who can make another person an administrator is the person who created the team initially (the Team owner).
In the All users category, you can see what group each user is in and assign them to a different group. NOTE: users can only be in one group at a time.
Connection permissions within groups
When you create or edit your group, you can choose to remove the permission that gives people the ability to connect to each other within the group. You may want to turn this off if you're inviting external people into a playtest event. You could stop them from requesting to connect to each other.
Connection permissions between groups
You can allow members of two groups to initiate connections between each other. The group that can initiate an outgoing request is able to visit a link that the other group creates and ask the host to allow them to connect to their computer.
In this case, the "Artists" group can make a request to connect to the "Developers" group for some real-time collaboration. When changing settings or group permissions, please make sure you save your changes.
Now that the outgoing permission is saved for the Artist group, the Developer group will now show that members of the Developer group can accept incoming requests from the Artist group.
Deleting a group
When you delete a group, it does not remove the users in that group from your Team. It places those people into the unassigned category.
A real world example
If your goal is to have people outside of your company connect to a specific set of computers inside your office for user research, playtesting, or anything else, you might want to set up your groups like this:
- Create an External User group
- Create a User Research Lab group
- Assign members to the External User group from outside of your company
- Turn off the ability to connect within the group
- Allow the External User group to make an outgoing connection request to the User Research Lab group
- Set up users on each of the User Research Lab computers and assign them to the User Research Lab group
- When it's time for the UX research, the External User group will be able to request to connect to the computers that the User Research Lab group have logged into.